day job

I reported late for work today. I forgot to set my alarm, again. That, and the fact that I spent the  night before watching The Simpsons.

It’s already the middle of the month. Has it been two and a half months already? In that span of  time I have been spending three days a week in an office where I get to see a myriad of people  from the casual employyees to the big bosses. In that span of time I have still to become accustomed to sitting in my chair in a cublicle while doing other other stuff on company time. And although I am not being paid based on the number of patients I see in a day or even on the number of hours I stay but on a memorandum of agreement I have with the company in exchange for my professional services as a company physician. My pay is not commensurate to the type of services I render and in reality I used to earn more than twice my take home pay but in a way I’m content already.

It used to be that I had to take four rides just to get to work at the hospital and I used to work three 24-hour duty days straight rest for a day only to repeat the process again. The whole ordeal was both mentally, physically, and emotionally demanding. But, like what I said in another blog entry somwhere else, I worked my arse off to forget more than anything else. But that was before.

Now I have a different set of priorities. I now work full time as a company physician on weekdays and work as a part time resident physician in the hospital on Saturdays. I actually never realized that I was promoted to regular status at the hospital until I was asked a specimen signature in the roster of employees.

Sure, I’m still thinking of pursuing residency training, hopefully sooner rather than later. But for now I’m happy that at the end of the day I can look forward to going home and still be able to do all the other stuff that I enjoy doing and spend quality time with the people who are the reason why I strive so hard in the first place.

Some sacrifices had to be made along the way though. With the reduction in my take home pay, I had to learn to spend less on my whims and wants and stay within budget and because of my weekend schedule, night outs with friends would have be replaced with lunch dates and long talks over reasonably priced coffee instead. These are minor setbacks I have learned to live with for now.

“find a job that you love and you will never have to work a day in your life” – and that is why friends, I’m still working to find that job!

~ by allen mallari on July 16, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
TIME

Current & Breaking News | National & World Updates

The Midwest Mermaid

Bringing a little sea life to the landlocked states, and beyond

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

A Slice of Life

Taking life one slice at a time with Cindy Knapper

Heroes of Yolanda

Celebrating the Modern-day Heroes Created by Typhoon Yolanda

amytxn4blog

My life in my world

61 Musings

Musings from a 64 year old introvert.

Globe Drifting

Global issues, travel, photography & fashion. Drifting across the globe; the world is my oyster, my oyster through a lens.

Sasquatch Dreams

A blog on Faith, Hope, Love, Time, the Practice of Medicine, Catholic Apologetics, Music, and Other Icky Stuff

Dharmaraj Karthikesan's Blog

My life as a doctor and the way I see it...

theeyelife

For those with a taste for the Eye Life

Hot Heels, Cool Kicks, & a Scalpel

Trauma Mamas Balance Fashion, Fitness, and Family

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

Barnstorming

Barnstorming: Seeking Sanctuary in the Seasons of a Rural Life

The Deceptive Income of Physicians

Doctors do not make as much money as you think

InkBlots and IceBergs

ramblings and reflections of a psychologist-wannabe

The Seekers' Portal

Lifelong Learning + Personal Growth = Legacy

