Little Things

little words.. big impacts

In this technologically advanced age that we live in, bigger doesn’t necessarily always mean better. As of writing the newest iPads are being released.  But I seem to be forgetting, this isn’t about gadgets, I’m here to talk about some other small things, the things that we so often take for granted.

It is customary for us to say “thank you” when somebody does a favor for us or is generally nice.  I often say thank you to the people who do their jobs to make life better: the guard who open the door for you, the cashier where you paid for your groceries and librarian whenever I go return a book.  But it strikes me as odd whenever they respond with “you’re welcome,” probably because I don’t get to hear nor utter the word as often as I should. “So what’s the big deal about that?” one might ask, well, nothing actually except that I realized that it was becoming more of an exception rather than the general rule.

I remember back when I was still in Med school,  I was running late for my next class at the anatomy amphitheater and the elevator just wouldn’t cooperate so I was forced to take the stairs to the 6th floor. As I was going down a man was going up, reading a copy of the school paper when a flyer fell. The man took one look at it, oblivious to what happened and didn’t bother to pick it up. And neither did I. It was then that another guy, also going down the stairs and also obviously also in a hurry to get somewhere, bent down to pick the piece of paper up and placed it at the nearest trash can. That little act made me think for a long time that day. I wondered how many more of his kind are left in the world, like I mean probably it’s not just once or twice that we take these kinds of things for granted, like throwing a candy wrapper on the street, writing scribbles on the desks, moving the slides of the demonstrated specimens at the anatomy museum, taking off the pins on the specimens…well the last two are personal complaints, but you get the picture.

A friend once sent me a text message, part of which read “friendship is not a big thing… it’s a million little things” and I think the same can be said of life in general. Sometimes it’s the “little” things in life that make it worthwhile. Give it some thought, even just a little.

[reposted from a previous blog post, revised and modified for this blog entry]

~ by allen mallari on October 26, 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
TIME

Current & Breaking News | National & World Updates

theflavoredworddotcom.wordpress.com/

"You must stay drunk on writing so reality cannot destroy you." ~ Ray Bradbury. I tend to agree with Mr. Bradbury, although my writings steer clear from dystopia, I am a fan of Batman and the young Bruce Wayne … throughout this blog (if you stay long enough) you’ll come to understand what this mortal thinks of the world around her ... maybe you'll even agree.

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

A Slice of Life

Taking life one slice at a time with Cindy Knapper

Heroes of Yolanda

Celebrating the Modern-day Heroes Created by Typhoon Yolanda

amytxn4blog

My life in my world

61 Musings

Musings from a 64 year old introvert.

Globe Drifting

Global issues, travel, photography & fashion. Drifting across the globe; the world is my oyster, my oyster through a lens.

Sasquatch Dreams

A blog on Faith, Hope, Love, Time, the Practice of Medicine, Catholic Apologetics, Music, and Other Icky Stuff

Dharmaraj Karthikesan's Blog

My life as a doctor and the way I see it...

theeyelife

For those with a taste for the Eye Life

Hot Heels, Cool Kicks, & a Scalpel

Trauma Mamas Balance Fashion, Fitness, and Family

Barnstorming

Barnstorming: Seeking Sanctuary in the Seasons of a Rural Life

The Deceptive Income of Physicians

Doctors do not make as much money as you think

InkBlots and IceBergs

ramblings and reflections of a psychologist-wannabe

The Seekers' Portal

Lifelong Learning + Personal Growth = Legacy

