Defying Gravity and the F Word

“I suggest that you eat and eat and eat”

Chef Rob Pengson

seven days without food makes one weak..

I step on the weighing scale and check the reading. I immediately arrive at a very probable and plausible conclusion: the scale is broken. It’s either that or based on my alleged weight, I should definitely shed some pounds or at least add some inches to my height. So, unless the earth moves out of orbit or space travel becomes affordable, I guess like all matter on the planet with sufficient enough mass I must obey the laws of gravity.

Looking back, I wasn’t always the behemoth I am now. Once upon a time I was in less than perfect form but in the very least within the normal range for BMI. Of course that was in senior year of high school where I spent a good year each as a football varsity player and later as a lowly cadet officer candidate where we had push ups for breakfast, run around the HQ for lunch and field exercises after school.

Many times when I meet friends and acquaintances that I haven’t seen for a long time there initial response is often quite predictable: “ang taba taba mo!” (You’re so fat!), to which I gently remind them to please not overstate the obvious.

I could rationalize and site several studies in my defense, but no. The simple singular truth is: Yes, I’m fat.

I could start writing a plethora of reasons to justify my present condition now, but I won’t. That would simply be a denial of the facts.

So with the help and prodding from my good friend, we now go irregularly to the gym to exercise and hopefully lose some pounds.

Recently one of my “classmates” took notice of the shirt I was wearing and asked me if I were indeed an ocean safety officer. I told her that I wasn’t, the shirt was a souvenir from friends who went on a trip recently. She then proceeded to ask me if I wasn’t an ocean safety officer, what I did for a living. I jokingly told her that in a way I do what lifeguards also do: save lives, in this case probably my own included.

In the course of our conversation, I also found out that she had suffered a stroke before and was attending the aerobics class to keep fit. Imagine that, here I am barely making the minimum amount of exercise and yet here is someone in her senior years keeping up with the rest of the younger ones in class.

So who am I to complain about the exercise regimen? 

That and the fact that part of what we do when a patient comes in for consultation is to give sound medical advice on losing weight and keeping fit, and it’s not easy to convince them to lose weight when I stand to lose more than just a few pounds myself.

So here’s some food for thought: in the process of educating my patients, I tell them what I do to try and lose weight, I ask them their expectations and we set goals we hope to attain and essentially make a pact with them that we are in this together, that hopefully the next time they show up for consult, we can both swap success stories regarding our fitness regimen instead of our favorite food and dining place.

And what is to be my end goal? Hopefully when all has been said and done, in the end I’ll still big, a big winner that is.       

~ by allen mallari on January 4, 2014.

Leave a Reply

 
TIME

Current & Breaking News | National & World Updates

The Midwest Mermaid

Bringing a little sea life to the landlocked states, and beyond

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

A Slice of Life

Taking life one slice at a time with Cindy Knapper

Heroes of Yolanda

Celebrating the Modern-day Heroes Created by Typhoon Yolanda

amytxn4blog

My life in my world

61 Musings

Musings from a 64 year old introvert.

Globe Drifting

Global issues, travel, photography & fashion. Drifting across the globe; the world is my oyster, my oyster through a lens.

Sasquatch Dreams

A blog on Faith, Hope, Love, Time, the Practice of Medicine, Catholic Apologetics, Music, and Other Icky Stuff

Dharmaraj Karthikesan's Blog

My life as a doctor and the way I see it...

theeyelife

For those with a taste for the Eye Life

Hot Heels, Cool Kicks, & a Scalpel

Trauma Mamas Balance Fashion, Fitness, and Family

rarasaur

frightfully wondrous things happen here.

Barnstorming

Barnstorming: Seeking Sanctuary in the Seasons of a Rural Life

The Deceptive Income of Physicians

Doctors do not make as much money as you think

InkBlots and IceBergs

ramblings and reflections of a psychologist-wannabe

The Seekers' Portal

Lifelong Learning + Personal Growth = Legacy

