Valentine’s Day and Yellow Bells

yello bell

roses are red, violets are blue.. but these flowers are yellow

Today could have come and gone without me giving any second thoughts about it, but just as I was going out of the house, I notice that the yellow bells are in bloom again and I remember..

A few years ago my sister asked my father what he’ll give our mother for Valentine’s Day and not really expecting him to answer the question. Life was hard and the money that he earned was allocated to what’s basic and what was truly important: for our education, food on the table, payment for the utility bills… But he told her with a straight face, of course I have something for your mother. And I do it every day: I show her how much I love her and she does the same to me. I may not come home with a bouquet of red roses and a box of chocolates; I’ll just get some yellow bells in the garden and she will still appreciate them I’m sure.

Back then I just thought he was being his stingy, practical and very unromantic self and yet now I recall that story this Valentine’s Day, now that he’s gone from this world, I realize that he was telling the truth. He showed us that loving isn’t just for one day in a year and that it’s not just one big thing, it’s the countless little things that we say and do to show that we truly care.

posted in response to the weekly writing challenge

~ by allen mallari on February 14, 2014.

7 Responses to “Valentine’s Day and Yellow Bells”

  1. […] Valentine’s Day and Yellow Bells | inkblots & blood clots […]

  2. What a man! Loved this.

  3. […] Valentine’s Day and Yellow Bells | inkblots & blood clots […]

  4. […] Valentine’s Day and Yellow Bells | inkblots & blood clots […]

  5. […] Valentine’s Day and Yellow Bells | inkblots & blood clots […]

  6. […] Valentine’s Day and Yellow Bells | inkblots & blood clots […]

  7. Hello! This is my first comment here so I just wanted to give a
    quick shout out and tell you I really enjoy reading your articles.
    Can you suggest any other blogs/websites/forums that deal with the
    same topics? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

 
TIME

Current & Breaking News | National & World Updates

theflavoredworddotcom.wordpress.com/

"You must stay drunk on writing so reality cannot destroy you." ~ Ray Bradbury. I tend to agree with Mr. Bradbury, although my writings steer clear from dystopia, I am a fan of Batman and the young Bruce Wayne … throughout this blog (if you stay long enough) you’ll come to understand what this mortal thinks of the world around her ... maybe you'll even agree.

Cee's Photography

Learning and teaching the art of composition.

A Slice of Life

Taking life one slice at a time with Cindy Knapper

Heroes of Yolanda

Celebrating the Modern-day Heroes Created by Typhoon Yolanda

amytxn4blog

My life in my world

61 Musings

Musings from a 64 year old introvert.

Globe Drifting

Global issues, travel, photography & fashion. Drifting across the globe; the world is my oyster, my oyster through a lens.

Sasquatch Dreams

A blog on Faith, Hope, Love, Time, the Practice of Medicine, Catholic Apologetics, Music, and Other Icky Stuff

Dharmaraj Karthikesan's Blog

My life as a doctor and the way I see it...

theeyelife

For those with a taste for the Eye Life

Hot Heels, Cool Kicks, & a Scalpel

Trauma Mamas Balance Fashion, Fitness, and Family

Barnstorming

Barnstorming: Seeking Sanctuary in the Seasons of a Rural Life

The Deceptive Income of Physicians

Doctors do not make as much money as you think

InkBlots and IceBergs

ramblings and reflections of a psychologist-wannabe

The Seekers' Portal

Lifelong Learning + Personal Growth = Legacy

